Highlighted
Super Contributor.
Super Contributor.

Uninstall Issue - Messages say I need to Uninstall Visual COBOL - But it is uninstalled

Jump to solution

I just got Visual COBOL 5.0 Yesterday, and installed it.  Then I went to install the COBOL Server for windows, and received an error that I cannot install that until Visual COBOL 2017 has been uninstalled.

So, I went and uninstalled Visual COBOL - and I am still getting the same error.

Windows doesn't show Visual COBOL as an installed program any more, so I don't know where it is finding it.

I have attached my log file.

AmyM1_0-1585056206567.png

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Re: Uninstall Issue - Messages say I need to Uninstall Visual COBOL - But it is uninstalled

Jump to solution

I am by no means an expert on the installation process or installation issues, but:

1. Have you rebooted since running the uninstallation? It should have told you if that was necessary, but it might be worth a try. If you don't want to reboot unnecessarily, you can use a utility such as pendmoves from Microsoft SysInternals to see if there are any pending file operations.
  2. The log says the installation is failing because it found the string "Micro Focus Visual COBOL for Visual Studio 2017" in the Registry (in the appropriate place). That string appears under HKLM\Micro Focus\Visual COBOL\5.0 as the data of the VCVS2017ProductName value, at least on my machine. So you could try deleting the entire 5.0 key and all its subkeys using regedit or similar.

In the past, when I've run into a problem like this, I've sometimes extracted individual MSIs from the installer executable and run manual uninstallations against them one at a time using msiexec. That's not a trivial process, though. Just deleting the registry key and installing the new product ought to overwrite everything.

View solution in original post

0 Likes
6 Replies
Highlighted
Outstanding Contributor.