Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Visual COBOL 2.1

Jump to solution

I am new to Visual COBOL and I want to create a simple winform (managed COBOL) that will read an AcuCOBOL vision file located on a windows machine. Are there any small examples out there where I can see how to set up a program that will do this?

Thanks in advance

Tags (2)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

RE: Visual COBOL 2.1

Jump to solution

I have found that the 9/198 error when reading a vision file is a result of compiling the application for "Any CPU" on a 64 bit windows machine.  The fix that I have used is to change the "Platform target" on the COBOL configuration page for the project to "x86"

View solution in original post

0 Likes
10 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution

Hi Mgarner, couple suggestions for you to refer to:

This shows how to access ACU and RM files from Visual COBOL:

documentation.microfocus.com/.../index.jsp

And for WinForm tutorials, we have several UI samples to choose from including this getting started guide:

documentation.microfocus.com/.../index.jsp

Regards, Scot

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution

Thanks Scot

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution

No problem, let us know how you get on.

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution

When I try to open the extend vision file i get a 9/nnn file status error (nnn=198) is that an issue with my vision file or am I missing something in the set up?

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution

Have you set the EXTFH environment variable to point to a extfh configuration file?  If so what is the contents of the configuration file?

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution