Highlighted
jzhang18 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Visual COBOL Run-time Console in Linux

Jump to solution

I am new to COBOL Eclipse tools,  Hope someone help me to figure it out

On Windows OS, when  I run COBOL tutorials, I can see the result in Prompt Windows directly from Eclipse.

But on Redhat Enterprise Linux. there is nothing to show the result from Eclipse when I run the COBOL application.

I need to test the application outside Eclipse.

Is there any configuration that needs to be setup under Linux?  I want to see the same behavior as Windows.

Any help is really appreciated.

Tags (3)
0 Likes
2 Solutions

Accepted Solutions
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

RE: Visual COBOL Run-time Console in Linux

Jump to solution

Hello jzhang18:

How do you view the Eclipse IDE when running Eclipse on Red Hat? Are you viewing Eclipse directly on the Red Hat desktop, or through an X-server running on Windows?  Or on the console of a VM running on Windows?

I created a hello-world project using Visual COBOL version 2.3 for Eclipse on the Red Hat desktop. At first I included only

display "hello world".

This ran quickly, and the output window appeared only in a flash then disappeared . Then I added:

stop "stopped, press a key to continue".

As the last statement in the procedure division. The output window appeared, and stopped allow it to be seen by the user. 

If you add a 'stop' statement to the end of your hello world program, does this help the output window to appear on your system?

jzhang18 Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Jump to solution

Thank you, Dan

I found the issue,  Eclipse call xterm command to show the result.

But by default, RED HAT Enterprise does not install xterm package.   After I did this installation:

sudo yum install xterm

Everything is working now.

0 Likes
4 Replies
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

Jump to solution

Hello jzhang18: