Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Visual Cobol runtime and MF Cobol Server

Jump to solution

Hello!

Althought I'm a programmer, I'm new to the whole cobol world. So please excuse me if my questions sound stupid. I'm having a hard time finding the documents that I need, because I'm unfamiliar with the terms that are used with Cobol programming.

My or rather my employers situation is like this: we essentially have a website that runs on Cobol programs compiled as .exes. These programs are made with .net express 5.1 and we are now trying to migrate to Vsual Cobol, for it's SQL database connector support.

So whats bothering me is:

• Does the visual cobol runtime need MF server installed for it to work
  • Are .net express 5.1 compiled exes compatible with with visual cobol runtime
  • Are the global variables/settings, that affect for example file sharing and file handler, global system (windows/unix) variables or are they in the MF Server or runtime.
Tags (1)
0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Micro Focus Expert
Micro Focus Expert

RE: Visual Cobol runtime and MF Cobol Server

Jump to solution

Answers to your questions:

Visual COBOL is the development product which provides for the compiler product running in Visual Studio. COBOL Server is the production product which provides all neccessary run-time and licensing components so that you can run the applications that you have developed with Visual COBOL on a non-development computer. So yes, COBOL Server must be installed in order to run your applications on a computer on which Visual COBOL is not installed.

This same requirement was with Net Express only the production run-time product is called Application Server or Server for COBOL depending on the version you are using.

Net Express 5.1 executables are NOT compatible with the Visual COBOL run-time. You must recompile them using Visual COBOL.

It sounds as if you are creating CGI executables in NX 5.1.