Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Webinar One: Understanding Visual COBOL

Jump to solution

[Migrated content. Thread originally posted on 27 January 2012]

Thank you to everyone who attended the webinar on Thursday – a fantastic turnout.

We had a lot of great questions which I hope I've managed to answer below:

1. Can you use Visual Studio for COBOL development on Unix?
2. Can I use Pro*COBOL compiler?
3. I’m a VB developer - Does the installation of Visual COBOL change the environment?
4. Are there lift-and-shift tools to take CICS/JCL to the Cloud?
5. How much does the product cost?
6. Where does source code live?
7. Do I need Developer Hub to debug an AIX application?
8. Can we mix Net Express 3.0 dlls in the same process as a Visual COBOL application?
9. Does Visual COBOL support CICS?
10. Can we migrate Dialog System apps to Visual COBOL?
11. Are the data tools supported in Visual COBOL?
12. Can we get the email addresses of other attendees on the webinar?

Answers:
1. Can you use Visual Studio for COBOL development on Unix?
No. We recommend you use Visual COBOL for Eclipse

2. Can I use Pro*COBOL compiler?
Yes. If moving to JVM or .NET, you’ll need to use OpenESQL instead of the pre-compiler.

3. I’m a VB developer - Does the installation of Visual COBOL change the environment?
Installation should leave your existing Visual Studio install safe and sound with only the addition of Visual COBOL.

4. Are there lift-and-shift tools to take CICS/JCL to the Cloud?
Micro Focus does provide such a solution but it is not part of Visual COBOL today. Please see our website for information about mainframe migration.

5. How much does the product cost?
Please contact your account manager for pricing and licensing questions.

6. Where does the source code live?