Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

XML Method

Jump to solution

For Visual Cobol,

I've been trying to figure out which XML Method is the more "current" one.

I've seen one that uses XML as a Stream and defines it in the File Section.

and

I've also seen one that uses Working Storage and EXPORTS or GENERATES the XML from there.

Which is the more current method? So I don't waste my time learning an older/outdated method.

Thanks

Eric Boatman

0 Likes
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Knowledge Partner
Knowledge Partner

RE: XML Method

Jump to solution

Hi, Eric.

Well, my bias in favor of XML Extensions is quite high, since I am an active RM/COBOL developer.  Effective use of XML Extensions requires learning a bit about XSLT, an XML based transformation language used to transform XML into XML (presumably changing its format), HTML or plain text (which would include, for example, JSON).

A key design principal taught (and all too often ignored) for decades is that you should separate data, business rules, and presentation in order to have the most maintainable and flexible application.  This principal applies to XML use, as well.  Let's consider data flowing out of the COBOL application.  What XML Extensions promotes is to export data and specify an XSLT transformation to do the work of getting the data into the correct form for the recipient of the data.  Changes imposed by the recipient on the format of the data, but not the data itself, are then accomplished outside the COBOL program.

As an example, consider those wonderful ACA compliance documents.  (I have already done ours!)  Do you think the IRS will happily keep accepting exactly the same document format year after year?  The last two years have proven that is not the case.  Yet the actual data is the same.  Many of the changes that you might anticipate (such as differences in XML namespace) are quite easily changed in XSLT.  Not so easy in COBOL trying to emulate XML.