Absent Member.
Absent Member.

compiling .cbl programs to create .o and use in batch script

We have a set of .cbl files in the Linux environment. Have installed Visual COBOL for Eclipse for SUSE.

I need to compile the source code and use the executable in the script to run the batch jobs.

Will executing the command "cob -z -P Program1.cbl" create a .o file and can we use the .o executable in my script to run the batch like

DD_SYS001=input_file

/location/program1.o unix >>outputfile

Is the approach fine? Since I am a novice, can someone please guide me step by step of how to go ahead executing it.

0 Likes
5 Replies
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

.o files are object files - they contain programs compiled to native code (that is, machine code specific to a particular platform) but in a form that is not quite ready to run. For the operating system to be able to run the program it must first be linked to form either an executable (which can be run by the OS) or a shared object (which contains a library of programs ready to be called by other programs).

You can use "cob -x" to create an executable or "cob -z" to create a shared object - see the topic "Compiling and Linking from the Command Line" in the Visual COBOL documentation for more on using "cob".

It looks as though you want to create a program you can run, so you would want

cob -x Program1.cbl

to create an executable file simply called "Program1" (If you are used to running on Windows, remember that UNIX is case-sensitive so "Program1" is not the same as "program1"). Then you can run it:

./Program1

This is the simplest case, running in the current directory with no arguments. To adapt your script snippet above:

export DD_SYS001=input_file
/location/Program1 unix >> outputfile

Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Thank you Jon for the explanation.

I have a set of programs which needs to be run in SUSE Linux with the help of a shell script.