CameronT_Aus4006 Regular Contributor.
Regular Contributor.

Install of 2nd Primary Server 11.4.1 from base iso has version Sys Update warning

Hi,

I am new to ZEN administration but have been tasked with urgently moving our ZCM 11.4.1 (on expirying W2k8 OS) to a new platform (W2016).

Using the Novell instructions on adding a second Primary Server (in order to remove the existing Primary Server), I have joined to the production Management Zone with the newly-created 11.4.0 server (base .iso), but in the Control Centre GUI there is a persistent warning about version mismatch in the Zone, as the new server is reporting all 11.4.0 versions and the existing server is all 11.4.1 versions.

The Post 11SP4 prerequisite System Update is in the deployment bundle, but fails to deploy to the new server (ie. 'Error' status).  I tried running the zman sui command line option and also running .msi files manually, however, from within ZCC it appears that the 11.4.1 System Update thinks it has succeeded auto deploying to this new server. (I guess this is why the older patch is failing). 

In the install subfolder there are .msi's from both System Updates, but the ones to run for the older patch are labelled as "superseded". Also the 'version.txt' in the install root dir is 10.4.1.5619.

I was able to run CA backup and configuration backup on the production Primary Server ok (although the database backup times out with a Java memory error I haven't worked out how to resolve yet), but the auto replication of the content-repo is 100% fine and both the Post SP4 prereq and 11.4.1 System Update bundles also 100% replicated on both Primary servers. So the two servers are apparently talking to themselves fine and are healthy (other than the version mismatch)

So the new server is stuck with reporting as an unpatched/earlier version of all Zenworks services and cannot get the update to install.