New Ranks & Badges For The Community!
Notice something different? The ranks and associated badges have gone "Star Fleet". See what they all mean HERE
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Installing iPrint client with ZCM

I am trying to install the iprint client to Windows XP WS with ZCM 10.3. I am just learning ZCM and am struggling to understand some of the concepts.

First of all, should I use a 'Directive' bundle or a 'Windows' bundle? I used a Windows-Simple application bundle because that seemed to make the most sense but it looks like I could use a Directive bundle as well. Which is correct?

What I want to achieve is to have a shortcut for the iPrint client appear on the desktop. When the user clicks on the shortcut it will launch nipp-s.exe and install the client.

In the Windows bundle, I set up the action of installing the client under the 'Install' tab. I'm just using nipp-s.exe and with ZfD, all I would have to do is to run this program and it would install correctly. In ZCM, when I double click on the icon on the desktop, I see the iPrint client unpacking the files but then it never installs. What am I missing?

Finally, is it correct to put the launch of the iPrint client under the 'Install' tab or under the 'launch' tab? It seems like both do the same thing in this case.

Any help would be appreciated.

Dan
Labels (2)
Tags (2)
0 Likes
7 Replies
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Dchuntdnc,

why don't you use a printer policy, which allows for this?

--

Shaun Pond

0 Likes
Highlighted
Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Shaun, this is part of a series of ZfD 7 app objects that we have historically run right after we image a machine. I guess I could use a printer policy - I have used that in ZfD but have not explored it yet in ZCM.