Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.
1536 views

Push out Printer Driver Profiles

Ok, here is the sitch. I have been working on setting up printer driver
profiles for my organization. I have posted here before and was looking for
a quick way of setting up a profile and copying it around to other print
managers but apparently that feature isn't here yet. I, like many of you,
have been growing my network as Novell comes out with advances. All of my
users have iPrint printers installed without driver profiles. The reason is
because when I first started with iPrint there was no driver profile
ability. Now that the ability is there I want to push these newly created
profiles out to all of users. I really don't want to make my users delete
and re-install all of their printers. Does anyone know of a way to make
this happen?

Thanks.
0 Likes
1 Reply
Anonymous_User Absent Member.
Absent Member.

Push out Printer Driver Profiles

Unfortunately we don't have that code in place yet. But, if you are
running the 4.12 client and NW65/SP4 you should be able to toggle the /DNS
switch on the server. If you are using the /DNS switch when loading the
NDPSM remove it and load the manager. This will cause the client to
install with the newly generated URL's. Or if you are not using the
switch just start using it and the clients will update to new url's and as
a side-effect they will also get the profiles.

> Ok, here is the sitch. I have been working on setting up printer driver
> profiles for my organization. I have posted here before and was looking

for
> a quick way of setting up a profile and copying it around to other print
> managers but apparently that feature isn't here yet. I, like many of

you,
> have been growing my network as Novell comes out with advances. All of

my
> users have iPrint printers installed without driver profiles. The

reason is
> because when I first started with iPrint there was no driver profile
> ability. Now that the ability is there I want to push these newly

created
> profiles out to all of users. I really don't want to make my users

delete
> and re-install all of their printers. Does anyone know of a way to make
> this happen?
>
> Thanks.


0 Likes
The opinions expressed above are the personal opinions of the authors, not of Micro Focus. By using this site, you accept the Terms of Use and Rules of Participation. Certain versions of content ("Material") accessible here may contain branding from Hewlett-Packard Company (now HP Inc.) and Hewlett Packard Enterprise Company. As of September 1, 2017, the Material is now offered by Micro Focus, a separately owned and operated company. Any reference to the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks is historical in nature, and the HP and Hewlett Packard Enterprise/HPE marks are the property of their respective owners.