5 minute read time

Meet our Summer 2022 Featured Community Knowledge Partner, Sebastijan Sef!

by Micro Focus Employee in Welcome

Tell us about yourself and your experience.
 Although I started playing with computers quite early (in 80s in elementary school - which by the way was not that common at that time, since I am coming from former communist country), I was not planning to have my career in IT but rather in engineering. At that time computers were just my hobby and nothing more, although I really liked that they (computers) just did whatever I told them to do.

During my university study for engineering I got an offer from a local IT company to start working for them. It looked like a challenge and first I took that job just to have additional income during my study. But I was really excited working there so slowly I dedicated more and more time to the job and less to my university study, which of course slowly led to dropping out of engineering study. Looking back 25 years I must say that I do not regret this decision. Not because I think university study is not needed (it is absolutely needed and anybody still in school, please finish what you have started!), but because it gave me opportunity to do for my day job something that I really loved.

At that company I started working with Novell products, first of course with NetWare. It was an interesting time when we were trying to automate desktop management using batch files and network drivers. We were actually quite successful but then Windows came into business and we needed additional tools. Thankfully, Novell provided NAL (Novell Application Launcher) and later ZENworks, which saved a lot of time.