Meet Our Winter 2020 Featured Knowledge Partner: Diethmar Rimser

by in Welcome

Congratulations to our Winter 2020 Featured Knowledge Partner, Diethmar Rimser, Entrepreneur, and GroupWise Expert!

rimser.pngOur final Featured KP of 2020 is Diethmar Rimser, aka Rimser in the Micro Focus Community. Rimser started with Novell in 1985 when the company produced network hardware. However, the business landscape changed over the years. Novell was bought, sold, and is now part of Micro Focus. So he followed the products, working with NetWare in the beginning and then becoming an expert in the GroupWise suite!

(Answers have been edited for length and clarity.)

Tell us more about yourself and your experience with Micro Focus.

I studied computer science in my home city, Linz. During my work at the university, local area networks became my focus; at that time I installed one of the first Novell networks in Austria (NetWare V4.6, hardware from Novell! based on Motorolla 68000). In the beginning, I worked a lot with NetWare; the file system and access control were incredibly fast and efficient (and still are). Working together, sharing files, taking care of access rights was the beginning of collaboration. At that time, Wordperfect Office was one of the first products to cover this "new" world. Novell bought Wordperfect and renamed Office to GroupWise where I finally landed!

Since that time GroupWise has been my main interest and money maker. But GroupWise was not enough to communicate and to collaborate. Vibe stepped in to fill the gap. Vibe is the origin for other products - Filr and Teamworks. And finally, Gwava products became part of the collaboration family. Of course communication without mobility is not possible. So all these products around communication and collaboration are my business focus.

How long have you been a Micro Focus Community Knowledge Partner and what are the highlights of the program?